< Back

Award winners celebrate at gala dinner

ITI’s gala dinner on 19 May was a celebration of the best in the translation and interpreting sector with the announcement of the winners of the Institute’s awards programme.

Ros Schwartz was the recipient of The John Sykes Memorial Prize for Excellence, which recognises outstanding contribution to the world of translation and interpreting over a long period.

With over 70 titles to her name, Ros Schwartz has translated a wide range of Francophone fiction and non-fiction authors. In 2010 she published a new translation of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s The Little Prince and she is currently involved in re-translating a number of Maigret titles for Penguin Classics’ new Simenon edition.

Ros frequently publishes articles and gives workshops and talks around the world. She is co-organiser of a literary translation summer school in association with City University, London, where she is an external supervisor. Over the past 20 years she has been involved a number of international translator training and mentoring activities including “Style Matters” with Chris Durban.

In 2009 she was made Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres for her services to literature.


The winners in the awards for best result in the MITI assessment were:


John Hayes Prize 2016

Excellence in Translation

Winner: Lee Anderson


John Hayes Prize 2015

Excellence in Translation

Winner: Vasso Angeletou


Interpreting Assessment Award 2016

Winner: Anne Hupli


The winners in the new award classes were:


Academic research

Winner: Elizabeth Morgan

Special Commendation: Kathleen Cyr


Best performance on a translation assignment

Winner: Karen Tkaczyk


Best performance on an interpreting assignment

Winner: Débora Chobanian

Special Commendation: Stefania Ricci and Alessandra MacKenzie


Best newcomer – corporate member

Winner: Junie Kristine Haller

Special Commendation: Jonas Fust


Best newcomer: freelancer

Winner: Claire Turner


Regional event/initiative

Winner: Medical and Pharmaceutical Network – Acute Medicine Workshop

Special Commendations: Spanish Network: Mentoring

                                             Yorkshire Translators and Interpreters: Bursaries


Winners: Ilenia Morelli, Denise Muir, Juliet Haydock – Italian Network


Corporate Member

Winner: Surrey Translation Bureau


Industry Ambassador

Winner: Hugh Morgan

Special Commendation: Yelena McCafferty


AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Scroll to Top
The Institute of Translation and Interpreting website would like to use cookies to store information on your computer, to improve our website. One of the cookies we use is essential for parts of the site to operate and has already been set. By your continued use of the ITI website you indicate your consent to our use of cookies on your computer. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.