19 May 2017

Award winners celebrate at Gala Dinner

ITI’s Gala Dinner on 19 May was a celebration of the best in the translation and interpreting sector with the announcement of the winners of the Institute’s awards programme.

Ros Schwartz was the recipient of the John Sykes Memorial Prize for Excellence, which recognises outstanding contribution to the world of translation and interpreting over a long period.

With over 70 titles to her name, Ros Schwartz has translated a wide range of Francophone fiction and non-fiction authors. In 2010 she published a new translation of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s The Little Prince and she is currently involved in re-translating a number of Maigret titles for Penguin Classics’ new Simenon edition.

Ros frequently publishes articles and gives workshops and talks around the world. She is co-organiser of a literary translation summer school in association with City University, London, where she is an external supervisor. Over the past 20 years she has been involved a number of international translator training and mentoring activities including “Style Matters” with Chris Durban.

In 2009 she was made Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres for her services to literature.

The winners in the awards for best result in the MITI assessment were:

John Hayes Prize 2016 - Excellence in translation

Winner: Lee Anderson

John Hayes Prize 2015 - Excellence in translation

Winner: Vasso Angeleyou

Interpreting Assessment Award 2016

Winner: Anne Hupli

The winners in the new award classes were:

Academic research

Winner: Elizabeth Morgan

Special Commendation: Kathleen Cyr

Best performance on a translation assignment

Winner: Karen Tkaczyk

Best performance on an interpreting assignment

Winner: Débora Chobanian

Special Commendation: Stefania Ricci and Alessandra MacKenzie

Best newcomer – Corporate member

Winner: Junie Kristine Haller

Special Commendation: Jonas Fust

Best newcomer: freelancer

Winner: Claire Turner

Regional event/initiative

Winner: Medical and Pharmaceutical Network – Acute Medicine Workshop

Special Commendations: Spanish Network: Mentoring

Yorkshire Translators and Interpreters: Bursaries


Winners: Ilenia Morelli, Denise Muir, Juliet Haydock – Italian Network

Corporate member

Winner: Surrey Translation Bureau

Industry Ambassador

Winner: Hugh Morgan

Special Commendation: Yelena McCafferty